Home Association IAAI AGM calls for members to unite, announces the formation of Women...

IAAI AGM calls for members to unite, announces the formation of Women Empowerment Committee

The IAAI (IATA Agents Association of India) AGM was held on 29th March, 2019, at The Sahil Hotel, Mumbai. The AGM was chaired by Manish Synghal, President IAAI Maharashtra State Committee and attended by Biji Eapen, the National President IAAI, Manu Nair, Director, IAAI, Aruna Shetty, Director, IAAI, T.U. Shamsuddin, CEO, IAAI, Rajesh Acharya, Vice President, IAAI-MH, RT Iyer, Secretary, IAAI-MH, Sarosh Parak, Treasurer, the other Managing Committee members and the members of IAAI Maharashtra State.

Manish Synghal welcomed the members. The meeting started with the National Anthem after which members observed one minute silence as homage to Late Shree Praveen Chugh, President TAFI, Late Shree Venugopal, CEO IAAI and to the army men who died in Pulwama terror attack recently.

Biji Eapen requested the members present to raise their queries and concerns related to the present situations in the travel industry and provide their valuable suggestions. IAAI members, Hector Dsouza, L’Orient Travels, Pramod Dalvi, VP, Kesari Travels, Arvind Tandon, Director, ARK Travels, Sumit Nanda from travel portal Cickurtrip addressed the members and raised their concerns and gave their valuable suggestions too.

The appointment of the ADHOC Managing Committee of Maharashtra State Committee (IAAI-MH) in the Extraordinary General Body Meeting held on 29th December 2018 at Hotel Fariyas, Mumbai which was called due to the resignation of Chetan Gandhi, the previous secretary and Siddhartha Shah, the previous Treasurer IAAI-MH was ratified as below in the AGM.

  1. Manish Synghal, Dimaz Aviation – President
  2. Rajesh Acharya, Balaji Travels – Vice President
  3. RT Iyer, Farsak Travels – Secretary
  4. Sarosh Parakh, Aero agencies – Treasurer
  5. Arvind Tandon, Ark Travels – Managing Committee Member
  6. Rosita Haribal, Travel Forte – Managing Committee Member
  7. Neelu Bhat, Welcome Travels – Managing Committee Member
  8. Chetan Gandhi, Travel- 360 Tours & Travels – Managing Committee Member
  9. Siddhartha Shah, Primark Travel House – Managing Committee Member

While Eapen voiced on many issues and like always, he was also was instrumental in sharing knowledge and current development in the travel trade in the meeting. He raised concerns which were not only affecting the IAAI but the travel industry as a whole. He suggested members to become active participants in such forum, raise issues and problems and collectively fight for the cause.

The other topic which was heavily discussed was the i-Top, the first in the world of its kind–offering 2 platforms- Ticketing through GDS & NDC via internet. Biji Eapen informed the members that during the National Managing Committee meet earlier this month it was decided to commercialise the i-Top project so that all the members the stake holders in this project will get their respective share. Eapen said, “We are in process to formulate a strategy. Many products are already integrated to the i-Top platform and we need a dedicated team to work for its promotion and marketing. The salient features like using your own BSP capping, IATA validation and BSP reporting & payment systems and also the benefits of a consolidator that you would enjoy with the collective productivity of all the members bringing it an equal share of the incentives.”

Manish Synghal, also the Chairman of the i-Top Executive Committee briefed the members about the progress of the Indian Travel Agents Own Portal which he called “Magic lamp of IAAI” officially launched during ICON – 2017 in Kochi.  In the briefing, he mentioned, “The IAAI trade partner members (non-IATA agents) will also avail the benefits of the best deals and tariffs for Air Tickets, Hotels Accommodation, Int’l Travel Insurance, Holiday Packages from Int’l and Domestic DMCs, Cruises, Car Hire, Payment Gateways, Rail and Bus Tickets etc. The other advantages of becoming a User of i-Top (own your own portal) like  Multi-level access profile system – facility to create sub-agent/customer profile, Facility to integrate your own Domain to i-Top by white labelling and overall, the  iTOP PUTS YOU ON TOP!

Earlier in the month, Manu T.G. Nair, M.D of M/s. Forv Holidays & Travel Pvt. Ltd., Thiruvananthapuram, was nominated as Director by the National President who had come for the AGM also gave a short speech.

Biji Eapen also announced the formation of Women Empowerment Committee to be headed by Aruna Shetty, the Director of IAAI. He also announced the formation of a Committee for better coordination and growth of Trade Partner Memberships (non-IATA members). IAAI Trade Partner Members Hector Dsouza, Ratan Kadmawala and Sumit Nanda showed their interest to be a part of the committee.